The solar system and milky way galaxy

The solar system

The galaxy that our solar system belongs to is known as “The way of Chopped Hay galaxy” or “The Milky Way galaxy” It takes an oval shape with coiled spiral arms extending from it, and the Sun lies on one of these spiral arms. The solar system consists of the Sun, the Planets, the Moons, the Asteroids, the Meteors, the Meteorites and the Comets.

The Sun is the star of our solar system. It is the biggest body in the solar system. It lies in the center of the solar system and the other bodies of the solar system revolve around it.

Jupiter is the biggest planet in the solar system, while Mercury is the smallest one. Mercury is the nearest planet to the Sun, while Neptune is the farthest one from the Sun.

The planets are eight spherical opaque bodies that revolve around the Sun in one direction (counterclockwise), They are arranged according to the distances from the Sun as follows: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune. They revolve around the Sun in semi-circular or elliptical (oval) orbits, The orbits of the planets lie in one plane perpendicular to the Sun’s axis of rotation around itself.

Mercury and Venus have no Moons revolving around them. Earth has one moon. Mars has two moons. Jupiter has 62 moons. Saturn has 60 moons. Uranus has 27 moons. Neptune has 12 moons.

The Moons which are the small planets (the satellites) that are affected by the gravity of the larger planets and rotate around them. 

The Asteroids are the celestial bodies that rotate around the Sun in the region of “the belt of the wanderer asteroids” which lies between the orbits of Mars and Jupiter, The belt of the wanderer asteroids separates the group of the inner planets from the group of the outer planets.

When the small rocky masses fall within the atmosphere of the Earth, These masses could burn up completely as a result of the heat produced from their friction with the air. leading to the formation of luminous arrows in the sky. these objects are called ” Meteors”.

The Meteors are luminous arrows that can be seen in the sky due to the complete burning of small rocky masses in the Earth’s atmosphere. Meteors can be seen with the naked eye on clear nights.

The Meteorites are the remaining part of the rocky masses without burning that fall on the surface of the Earth. The biggest meteorites till now have a mass of 80 tons and exist in the south west of Africa. 

The comet consists of two parts which are: The head which contains icy spheres that are a mixture of solidified gases, rocky parts, dust, and water molecules. The Tail which considered a gaseous cloud.

The comets which are masses of rocks, ice, and solidified gases that revolve around the Sun in more elongated elliptical orbits intersecting with the orbits of the planets.

You can download Science online application on Google Play from this link: Science online Apps on Google Play

Universe, Galaxies, Milky Way galaxy, Solar System, Origin of Universe & Stages of Big Bang

Nebular theory, Crossing star theory, Modern theory, Solar telescope & Hubble telescope

The Evolution of the Solar System and Solar Nebular theory

Stages of the origin of the universe since the Big Bang

You may also like...

Leave a Reply